## Riverrun Film Festival: Statement of Jury:

The jury for the Re: Vision Independent Feature Competition finished their deliberations on Sunday and I'm happy to report to you that at the end of the process they decided to recognize FIRES IN THE DARK with the awards of Best Film, Best Director, and Best Screenplay in the category!

Their direct statements were:

**Best Film**: "Fires in the Dark is a beautifully filmed window into the harsh and often unforgiving transition from child to adult."

**Director**: "Lienhard's approach here is a subtle one that pays off in great strides. Through precise visual storytelling, use of intimacy, and excellent pacing he's able to immediately bring us into the world and keep us clinging to every moment."

**Screenplay:** "For a touching, well-paced story that gives access to a lost time and place."

**Christopher Holmes** 

Fatih Akin, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, François Ozon, Pawel Pawlikowski et Joachim Lafosse, entre autres, ont été primés au festival de Riverrun.

## **Best Narrative Feature of Riverrun International Film Festival:**

Year	Film	Country	Director
2021	Fires in the Dark	France / Belgium	Dominique Lienhard
2020[1]	De Lo Mio	<u>United States</u>	Diana Peralta
$2019^{[2]}$	Alice	Australia/France	Josephine Mackerras
2018	Angels Wear White	China	Vivian Qu
2017	After Love <sup>[3]</sup>	France / Belgium	Joachim Lafosse
2016	The Fits <sup>[3]</sup>	<u>United States</u>	Anna Rose Holmer
2015	Memories on Stone <sup>[3]</sup>	<u>Iraq</u> / <u>Germany</u>	Shawkat Amin Korki
2014	$\underline{Ida}^{[3]}$	Poland	Paweł Pawlikowski
2013	In the House <sup>[3]</sup>	<u>France</u>	François Ozon
2012	Found Memories <sup>[4]</sup>	Argentina / Brazil	Júlia Murat
2011	Bal (Honey)	Turkey / Germany	Semih Kaplanoglu
2010	Katalin Varga	Romania / United Kingdom	Peter Strickland
2009	Three Monkeys	<u>Turkey</u> / France / Germany	Nuri Bilge Ceylan
2008	The Edge of Heaven	Germany / Turkey	Fatih Akin
2007	For the Living and the Dead	<u>Finland</u>	Kari Paljakka
2006	A Wonderful Night in Split	Croatia	Arsen Anton Ostojić
2005	Innocent Voices	Mexico	Luis Mandoki
2004	Dandelion	United States	Mark Milgard
2003	The Truth Yathharth	India	Rajesh Sheth
2001	Morning ( >\$500k budget )	United States	Ami Canaan Mann
2001	Dischord (<\$500k budget)	United States	Mark Wilkinson